- Twitter is rolling out the Spaces feature for Android and iOS users
- Now, Twitter users will be able to record Spaces.
- This recorded space will be available for a span of 30 days once the Space has ended
Twitter has been going big with its Spaces feature. It releases an update that enables people to get involved in audio-only chatrooms with their followers. Now, all hosts will be able to record their Spaces on the platform. The company today announces that all Twitter users will be able to record Spaces on Android and iOS. The feature also now has its own dedicated button in the Twitter app’s bottom ribbon. All users need to do is toggle the ‘Record Space’ button while recording a Space. In doing so, the recorded space will be available for a span of 30 days once the Space has ended
Twitter first Introduces Spaces Feature in October, Last year
Twitter first introduces recording to a limited number of hosts in October, promising the feature would be available to all hosts soon. You still have to be the host to record a Space. Just like with Zoom, Twitter will show a visual indicator to all members in the space to let them know if a particular Space is being recorded.
Twitter already keeps the audio files for Spaces in its servers. The users can access prior to this feature by requesting an archive of your account information. However, this will take hours or days, in contrast to the new recording feature which allows you access immediately after a Space has ended.
The recording feature is only available for the Twitter iOS and Android apps. The Twitter web app on both desktop and mobile still cannot be used to record Spaces, or even create them. As far as Spaces are concerned, anyone can join, listen and speak in a Twitter Space for iOS and Android.
Twitter will keep a copy of the recording for up to 120 days to verify its terms of service violation reports. This will happen even if you have deleted the recorded Space before its 30-day expiry. Once the company has verified that your recorded Space does not violate its terms of service, it will automatically delete the Space. It’s the same in the case of the live Spaces.
Thanks for reading!!
Stay Connected for more latest updates